2019 Kalemba Prize

2019 Kalemba Shortlist

The short-list for the 2019 Kalemba Prize has been announced by the Chair of Judges, writer and Professor of English, Ainehi Edoro.

Edoro described the six short-listed stories as “dramatic, exciting, resonant and evocative,” woven around the subjects of love, resistance, loss and survival.

The winning author will be announced on 17 June, and will receive a $1,000 prize for their piece of short fiction.

The short-list was decided by a panel of judges, who included Kayo Chingoyi, Austin Kaluba, Mulenga Kapwepwe and Ainehi Edoro.

The six final entries are:

The Masks – Lucy Zulu Simuzingili
All To love – Lydia Ngoma
Pain By Any Other Name – Fiske Nyirongo
Inswa – Mubanga Kalimamukwento
Binary – Jumani Clarke
Career Battle – Mirriam Lusambo