2020 Kalemba Shortlist

The short-list for the 2020 Kalemba Prize has been announced by the Chair of Judges, writer and novelist, Ellen Banda-Aaku.

Banda-Aaku described the six short-listed stories as “poignant, emotive and fresh with unusual twists.”

The winning writer will be announced on September 4, and will receive a USD1,000 prize for their piece of short fiction.

The short-list was decided by a panel of judges, who included Masande Ntshanga, Remey Nagmidje, Mali Kabandu and Ellen Banda-Aaku.

The six final entries are:

A silent cry – Chowa Chikumbi
Junta or Divorce – Samuel Zimba
I’ll keep you safe – Vanessa Nakayange
Daze – Mukuka Nkunde
If it ain’t broke – Rhodasi Mwale
After the storm – Otensia Kapinga

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: