Kalemba Prize shortlist dominated by female writers, again

Six Zambian writers are competing for the 2020 Kalemba Short-Story Prize.

At USD1000 for the winning story, Kalemba is the top literary prize in Zambia. The winner will be announced on Monday, September 7.

The 2020 prize is largely dominated by women, five out of six finalists. The 2019 prize, which was won by writer and lawyer, Mubanga Kalimamukwento was also dominated by women.

Chair of the judging panel, Ellen Banda-Aaku, described the six short-listed stories as “poignant, emotive and fresh with unusual twists.”

The short-list was decided by a panel of judges, who included Masande Ntshanga (South Africa), Remey Nagmidje (Rwanda-Namibia) and Mali Kambandu, the winner of the inaugural 2018 Kalemba Prize.

Previous judges include some of Africa’s literary leading names; Namwali Serpell, Mukoma Wa Ngugi, Mulenga Kapwepwe, Ainehi Edoro, Kayo Chingoyi and Austin Kaluba.

Kalemba Prize has announced a poetry prize which will start in 2021, also at $1000 for the winner. Kalemba Prize is a Zambian initiative and wholly run and funded by Zambians.

Our top six stories out of more than 230 entries are:

A silent cry – Chowa Chikumbi
Junta or Divorce – Samuel Zimba
I’ll keep you safe – Vanessa Nakayange
Daze – Mukuka Nkunde
If it ain’t broke – Rhodasi Mwale
After the storm – Otensia Kapinga

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: